New Formalism, or Neo-formalism, was a late-twentieth century development in American poetry that sought to draw fresh attention to traditional forms of verse in terms of meter, rhyme, and stanzaic symmetry.

read more

filter by
namesort ascending years schools & movements
Thomas Wyatt 1503-1542 Formalism
Richard Wilbur 1921-2017 Formalism
Phillis Wheatley 1753-1784 Formalism
Derek Walcott 1930-2017 Formalism
Timothy Steele 1948- Formalism
Donald Revell 1954- Formalism
Wyatt Prunty 1947- Formalism
Alexander Pope 1688-1744 Formalism
Molly Peacock 1947- Formalism
Glyn Maxwell 1962- Formalism